memories on the corner of my mind

2 Apr

It’s not so much one physical place for me that brings up positive memories because my dad has not lived in the same house for more than five years. This didn’t bother me at all because it didn’t matter where we were; it just mattered that we were together. My dads house is always so inviting with the smell of eucalyptus; it was his scent — well, part of it anyway. Its hard to describe what he smelled of exactly but it always puts me at ease, no matter the circumstances I never have to worry when I’m here.

Airports stress me out quite a bit, or more specifically, just being on the plane itself stresses me out. I don’t know if you could consider these two the same thing but I don’t claim to be afraid of heights; just afraid of falling. I’ve climbed mountains and been on top floors of buildings feeling secure nearly the entire time.Anytime I walk into an airport I worry I’m going to get either kidnapped, pic-pocketed, hurt in some way, or wind up dead from a terrorist.

I couldn’t think of specific place to identify me, so I chose Hays instead. Hays isn’t my home town or where I was born but rather the place where I’ve grown the most. I’ve found myself in this town over the past two years through friends, boyfriends, work, and school. It means a lot to me that I get to be here everyday, doing what I love. I grew up in a small town and I think that’s why this place suits me so well. I’m more about the people I’m spending time with rather than the things we choose to do. I’m thankful for these people because they’re the ones who define me.

Image  Image  Image

 Daytona Beach, Florida in November ’11

 

 

Wednesday Mar. 28, 2012

7:30am     woke up and got ready for school
8:20am     left my apartment – went to class
8:30am      Drawing II class
10:30am     Current Political Issues class
11:30am     Renaissance Art History class
12:30pm     Basic Design
3:00pm      went to The Center to workout
4:30pm     started an episode of The Office
5:30pm     made a grilled cheese
7:00pm     took a shower
8:00pm     went to work
1:50am     got home from work
2:15am     went to sleep

 

For my next project I chose to relate my style and concepts towards the same of Karla Wozniak. She paints of places she knows and has visited. There are a lot of textures in her work and she uses a lot of transparencies, reminding me of printmaking almost. I like her style and my goal is to imitate with my own twist. Her work is rigid in some areas and that’s how my style is somewhat already. I think it will be fun.

Leave a comment